Six Wall Street asset managers — BNY Mellon, Goldman Sachs, BlackRock, State Street, Fidelity, and Circle (via BlackRock-managed USDXX) — have launched dedicated money market funds engineered to hold stablecoin reserves under the GENIUS Act, the first federal regulatory framework for payment stab...
"Stablecoins are quickly becoming core financial infrastructure, making the quality and management of their reserves critically important." — Nathan McCauley, Co-founder and CEO, Anchorage Digital
Six Wall Street asset managers — BNY Mellon, Goldman Sachs, BlackRock, State Street, Fidelity, and Circle (via BlackRock-managed USDXX) — have launched dedicated money market funds engineered to hold stablecoin reserves under the GENIUS Act, the first federal regulatory framework for payment stablecoins in the United States. The funds target a $320 billion stablecoin market that Citigroup projects could reach $1.6 trillion to $3.7 trillion by 2030, creating an estimated $800 billion to $1 trillion in incremental demand for short-dated U.S. Treasury bills.
The buildout coincides with a regulatory sprint: six federal agencies must finalize implementing rules by July 18, 2026 — exactly one year after Congress enacted the law. All major comment periods closed by June 9. On June 22, FinCEN published a joint proposed rule in the Federal Register establishing customer identification program (CIP) requirements for permitted payment stablecoin issuers, adding another compliance layer. Whether Tether's USDT — the market's $188 billion anchor — can operate under this framework remains the sector's largest unresolved question.
The following asset managers have filed or launched GENIUS Act-compliant stablecoin reserve vehicles as of June 22, 2026:
| Asset Manager | Fund Name | Launch Date | Structure | Initial Investor(s) | |---|---|---|---|---| | BNY Mellon | BNY Dreyfus Stablecoin Reserves Fund (BSRXX) | Nov. 13, 2025 | Rule 2a-7 government MMF | Anchorage Digital | | Goldman Sachs | Goldman Sachs Stablecoin Reserves Fund | Q1 2026 | Rule 2a-7 government MMF | Not disclosed | | BlackRock | BlackRock Daily Reinvestment Stablecoin Reserve Vehicle (BRSRV) | Filed May 8, 2026 | Tokenized MMF | Pending | | State Street | State Street Stablecoin Reserves MMF | June 16, 2026 | Rule 2a-7 government MMF | State Street Bank, Anchorage Digital | | Fidelity | Fidelity Reserves Digital Fund (FYMXX) | June 18, 2026 | Rule 2a-7 government MMF | Not disclosed | | Circle/BlackRock | Circle Reserve Fund (USDXX) | Pre-existing (restructured) | Rule 2a-7 government MMF | Circle (for USDC reserves) |
All six funds share an identical investment mandate: U.S. Treasury bills, notes, and bonds with remaining maturity of 93 days or less; overnight repurchase agreements collateralized by U.S. Treasuries; cash; and other compliant government money market funds. This uniformity is not coincidental — it mirrors the GENIUS Act's statutory definition of permissible reserve assets.
BNY Mellon moved first, launching BSRXX in November 2025, four months after the law's enactment. Goldman Sachs followed in Q1 2026. BlackRock filed for its tokenized vehicle on May 8. State Street and Fidelity launched within two days of each other in mid-June, suggesting coordinated timing ahead of the July 18 regulatory deadline.
The Guiding and Establishing National Innovation for U.S. Stablecoins Act, enacted July 18, 2025, establishes the following reserve requirements for permitted payment stablecoin issuers (PPSIs):
1:1 Reserve Backing. Every dollar of stablecoin outstanding must be matched by one dollar of permissible reserve assets. No fractional reserves. No lending against reserves.
Permissible Reserve Assets. The statute limits reserves to: cash (including Federal Reserve deposits), U.S. Treasury securities maturing in 93 days or less, overnight reverse repurchase agreements collateralized by Treasuries, and shares in qualifying government money market funds.
Monthly Disclosure. Issuers must publish monthly reserve attestations. Circle already publishes monthly attestations audited by a Big Four accounting firm.
AML/CFT and Sanctions Compliance. Issuers must maintain anti-money laundering and countering the financing of terrorism programs meeting FinCEN and OFAC standards. A joint proposed rule implementing these requirements was published on April 10, 2026, with the comment period closing June 9.
Customer Identification Programs. On June 22, 2026, FinCEN, the OCC, the Federal Reserve, the FDIC, and the NCUA published a joint proposed rule in the Federal Register requiring PPSIs to maintain written, risk-based customer identification programs. Comments are due 60 days after publication. The rule requires PPSIs to collect specified identifying information before opening accounts, verify customer identity within a reasonable time, maintain records, and screen against government lists.
The 93-day maturity cap on Treasury holdings is the structural feature driving fund design. It effectively mandates that reserve funds operate as ultra-short-duration vehicles, concentrating demand into the shortest segment of the Treasury curve.
Six federal agencies are simultaneously drafting final rules under a statutory deadline of July 18, 2026:
| Agency | Rule Scope | Proposed Rule Date | Comment Period Closed | |---|---|---|---| | OCC | Prudential standards for national bank issuers | March 2, 2026 | May 1, 2026 | | FDIC | Standards for FDIC-supervised issuers | April 10, 2026 | June 9, 2026 | | Treasury | State regulatory equivalency determination | April 2026 | June 2, 2026 | | FinCEN/OFAC | AML/CFT and sanctions compliance | April 10, 2026 | June 9, 2026 | | FinCEN + banking agencies | Customer identification program | June 22, 2026 | ~August 21, 2026 | | NCUA | Credit union issuer standards | April 2026 | June 2026 |
The CIP rule published June 22 is notable: its 60-day comment period extends past the July 18 statutory deadline, meaning this particular rule cannot be finalized by that date. Whether other agencies meet the deadline is uncertain. According to analysis by Chapman and Cutler LLP, the agencies face simultaneous final-rule drafting with approximately 26 days remaining to reconcile six proposed frameworks. Historically, regulatory agencies have missed statutory deadlines — the SEC and CFTC missed roughly 40% of Dodd-Frank mandated deadlines, according to research compiled by the Paradigm GENIUS Act Rulemaking Tracker.
Once final rules are published, issuers have approximately 120 days to achieve compliance, pushing full enforcement to late 2026 or early 2027.
The concentration of stablecoin reserves in sub-93-day Treasuries has measurable implications for the short end of the yield curve.
Current stablecoin market capitalization stands at approximately $320 billion, according to DefiLlama data. Tether and USDC account for roughly 92% of that figure. Stablecoin issuers already hold over $120 billion in Treasury bills, according to data compiled by the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City.
Standard Chartered calculated that a $2 trillion stablecoin market — consistent with the lower end of Citigroup's 2030 projection — would generate $800 billion to $1 trillion in incremental T-bill demand. Combined with projected Federal Reserve purchases of approximately $1.2 trillion should quantitative tightening end, total new T-bill demand reaches roughly $2.2 trillion against only $1.3 trillion in projected supply.
Research from the Bank for International Settlements (BIS Working Paper No. 1270) found that a $3.5 billion stablecoin inflow lowers 3-month T-bill yields by 2.5 to 3.5 basis points within 10 to 20 days. Extrapolating to the projected market size, large flows could suppress T-bill yields by 7.85 to 11 basis points, with potential implications for Federal Reserve monetary policy transmission.
The Kansas City Fed noted that while stablecoins increase gross Treasury demand, they do so by redirecting capital from other asset classes — particularly bank deposits and prime money market funds — rather than creating net new demand for safe assets.
Tether's USDT, with a market capitalization of $188 billion as of June 2026, represents approximately 59% of the stablecoin market. Whether USDT can operate under the GENIUS Act framework is the sector's most consequential unresolved question.
Tether is incorporated in the British Virgin Islands. Under the GENIUS Act, foreign issuers must: (1) be subject to oversight by a foreign regulator with a "substantially similar" regulatory regime; (2) register with the OCC under 12 CFR Part 15; and (3) comply with U.S. technological and reserve requirements.
As of June 22, 2026, the U.S. Treasury has not issued an equivalency determination for any foreign jurisdiction. No offshore issuer has published a formal 12 CFR Part 15 application. Tether has stated its intention to register USDT in the U.S. under the foreign issuer rules, according to reporting from July 2025, but no application has been made public.
Tether publishes quarterly reserve attestations but has not completed a full audit by an independent accounting firm — a distinction that separates it from Circle's monthly Big Four attestations. Whether the GENIUS Act's monthly disclosure requirements and reserve composition rules will force structural changes to Tether's operations remains to be seen.
The Treasury's foreign-issuer equivalency framework was outlined in a proposed rule with comments due June 2, 2026. Final rules have not been published. If Treasury cannot finalize the equivalency determination by July 18, Tether's U.S. market access could operate in a regulatory gray zone until the framework is complete.
Circle Internet Group, publicly traded on the NYSE under ticker CRCL since its June 2025 IPO at $31 per share, operates what is effectively the template for GENIUS Act compliance.
USDC circulation stood at $79.2 billion as of March 16, 2026, up from $75.3 billion at year-end 2025. Approximately 80% or more of USDC reserves sit in the Circle Reserve Fund (USDXX), an SEC-registered Rule 2a-7 government money market fund managed by BlackRock and custodied at BNY Mellon.
Circle's 2024 revenue was $1.678 billion, of which $1.646 billion — 98% — came from reserve income: interest earned on the Treasury bills and money market instruments backing USDC. This revenue model is structurally identical to what the new Wall Street reserve funds seek to capture. The difference is that Circle earns the reserve yield on its own stablecoin, while the new funds earn management fees (typically 0.18% to 0.25%) on assets deposited by other issuers.
Circle's stock surged 168% on its IPO day and reached an all-time high near $263 before pulling back to the $91 to $95 range by late April 2026, implying a market capitalization of roughly $22.5 billion.
The new reserve funds compete primarily on fees and distribution. Fidelity's FYMXX charges a management fee of 0.25%, with a net expense ratio of 0.18% after waivers. The minimum initial investment is $1 million, though Fidelity may lower or waive that threshold.
At a 0.20% average fee on a $320 billion addressable market, the total annual fee pool is approximately $640 million. At the $2 trillion projected market size, it rises to $4 billion.
However, the economics are more nuanced than headline fees suggest. Stablecoin issuers earn the spread between the T-bill yield and the fees they pay to reserve fund managers. With the effective federal funds rate at current levels, that spread supports the stablecoin business model. If short-term rates fall materially, the economics compress for both issuers and fund managers.
BlackRock's BRSRV is structurally distinct from the others: it is designed as a tokenized vehicle accessible through crypto wallets, potentially enabling on-chain composability that traditional 2a-7 funds cannot offer. Whether tokenized reserve fund shares can themselves qualify as permissible reserve assets under the GENIUS Act is a question that final rules may need to address.
The stablecoin reserve fund buildout represents a quantifiable shift in how Wall Street interacts with the digital asset sector. Rather than trading tokens or launching crypto exchanges, the largest asset managers are competing to serve as back-end infrastructure providers — earning basis-point fees on the Treasury bills and repo agreements that, by law, must back every stablecoin dollar.
The economic logic is straightforward: a market growing from $320 billion toward $2 trillion or more requires a proportional increase in compliant reserve vehicles. The firms that establish distribution relationships with issuers now will likely retain those relationships as the market scales.
The unresolved variables are regulatory timing and Tether's status. If agencies miss the July 18 deadline, the compliance timeline extends. If Tether cannot or does not achieve GENIUS Act compliance, $188 billion in stablecoin circulation — and the corresponding reserve management opportunity — remains outside the U.S. regulatory perimeter. Both outcomes are plausible; neither is certain.
What is certain is that the reserve management infrastructure is being built. The question is no longer whether Wall Street will service the stablecoin market, but how large that market will be when the plumbing is complete.