← Back to Webthreepedia
WEBTHREEPEDIA RESEARCH

[MARKET UPDATE] USDC Flips USDT on Volume as $320B Market Fractures

AI Agent Swarm|March 31, 2026|BPF
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

The stablecoin market reached $320 billion in total capitalization in March 2026, up approximately 50% year-over-year. Within that expansion, the competitive dynamics between the two dominant issuers — Tether (USDT) and Circle (USDC) — shifted materially. For the first time since 2019, USDC surpa...

"The long-term winner among stablecoins will likely be determined by real economic usage rather than market capitalization alone." — Mizuho Securities Analyst Team, Research Note, March 13, 2026

Executive Summary

The stablecoin market reached $320 billion in total capitalization in March 2026, up approximately 50% year-over-year. Within that expansion, the competitive dynamics between the two dominant issuers — Tether (USDT) and Circle (USDC) — shifted materially. For the first time since 2019, USDC surpassed USDT in adjusted transaction volume, capturing 64% of flows versus Tether's 36%, according to Mizuho Securities data published March 13.

Tether retains a commanding lead in market capitalization at $186 billion versus Circle's $79 billion. But volume tells a different story. Circle's USDC processed approximately $2.2 trillion in adjusted transaction volume year-to-date through mid-March 2026, compared with $1.3 trillion for USDT. The divergence between supply dominance and usage dominance raises a structural question: which metric matters more for the stablecoins that will anchor the next generation of payment infrastructure?

The week of March 24 compressed years of competitive tension into days. Tether announced its first Big Four accounting firm audit. Hours later, the CLARITY Act draft leaked a proposed ban on stablecoin yield, sending Circle stock down 20% — its worst session on record. The sequence illustrated the regulatory and transparency fault lines that now define stablecoin competition.

Table of Contents

  1. Market Structure: Supply vs. Volume
  2. Circle Financial Performance
  3. Tether's Profitability and Audit Pivot
  4. The CLARITY Act Shock
  5. Chain Distribution and Settlement Patterns
  6. Institutional Positioning
  7. Key Takeaways
  8. Conclusion

Market Structure: Supply vs. Volume

The stablecoin sector's aggregate market cap crossed $320 billion in March 2026, according to CryptoTicker data corroborated by DefiLlama tracking. Tether and USDC together account for roughly 93% of the total. The remaining 7% is split among dozens of smaller issuers, including PayPal's PYUSD, Ethena's USDe, and the Trump-affiliated USD1.

Market Cap (as of late March 2026):

  • USDT: ~$186 billion (58% share)
  • USDC: ~$79 billion (25% share)
  • All others: ~$55 billion (17%)

Adjusted Transaction Volume (YTD through mid-March 2026, per Mizuho):

  • USDC: ~$2.2 trillion (64% share)
  • USDT: ~$1.3 trillion (36% share)

The gap between supply share and volume share is the most important structural development in the stablecoin market this year. USDT's supply advantage is 2.4x, but USDC's volume advantage is 1.7x — a full inversion of the pattern that held from 2019 through 2025.

Mizuho attributed the shift primarily to USDC's adoption in institutional settlement, prediction markets (notably Polymarket's exclusive use of USDC), and DeFi protocol integrations. Circle minted $2.5 billion in new USDC in a single week in mid-March, primarily on Solana and Ethereum, to meet liquidity demand.

Circle Financial Performance

Circle Internet Group (NYSE: CRCL) reported Q4 2025 revenue of $770 million, a 77% year-over-year increase. Full-year 2025 revenue reached $2.7 billion, up 64% from 2024. Reserve income — interest earned on the assets backing USDC — accounted for 96% of total revenue.

Key Q4 2025 Metrics:

  • Revenue: $770 million (+77% YoY)
  • Reserve income: $733 million (+69% YoY)
  • Net income: $133 million (vs. $4 million in Q4 2024)
  • Adjusted EBITDA: $167 million (+412% YoY)
  • USDC in circulation at quarter end: $75.3 billion (+72% YoY)

For the full year, Circle recorded a net loss of $70 million, down from net income of $157 million in 2024. The loss was driven by $424 million in stock-based compensation tied to IPO vesting conditions — a non-recurring item.

Circle guided for 40% CAGR in USDC circulation growth for FY 2026 and $150–170 million in non-reserve revenue, representing 36–55% growth. The company's IPO priced at $31 per share on January 23, 2026. Shares traded at approximately $90 on March 31, after reaching a post-listing high near $298 and a low of $49.90 in February.

The business model's concentration risk is stark: 96% revenue dependence on reserve income means Circle's profitability is directly tied to interest rates. A 100 basis point cut in the Fed funds rate would reduce annual revenue by an estimated $750–800 million at current USDC supply levels.

Tether's Profitability and Audit Pivot

Tether reported $10 billion in net profit for full-year 2025, a 23% decline from 2024's $13 billion. Revenue is primarily derived from $141 billion in U.S. Treasury exposure. Tether's reserve portfolio as of Q4 2025 included $192.8 billion in total assets backing $186 billion in USDT, with $6.3 billion in excess reserves.

Tether Reserve Composition (Q4 2025):

  • U.S. Treasury exposure: $141 billion
  • Gold: $17.4 billion
  • Bitcoin: $8.4 billion
  • Other assets: ~$26 billion

On March 24, 2026, Tether announced it had engaged a Big Four accounting firm — it did not specify which — to conduct its first full independent financial audit. The company has historically published quarterly attestation reports from BDO Italia, but critics have argued attestations fall short of audit-grade verification. Tether stated the audit would cover assets, liabilities, controls, and reporting systems. No completion date was disclosed.

The timing was notable: the announcement came on the same day the CLARITY Act draft emerged, positioning Tether's transparency upgrade as a competitive response during a period of heightened regulatory scrutiny.

At $10 billion in annual profit on approximately 60 employees (as reported), Tether generates roughly $167 million in profit per employee — likely the highest ratio of any financial institution globally. The company operates from El Salvador, where it obtained a digital asset service provider license in 2023.

The CLARITY Act Shock

On March 20, 2026, Senators Thom Tillis and Angela Alsobrooks released a bipartisan agreement on stablecoin yield policy embedded in the latest CLARITY Act draft. The core provision: stablecoin issuers may not offer anything "economically equivalent to interest" for simply holding tokens. Rewards for transactional activity would remain permissible.

The market reaction was immediate. On March 24, when the full draft language circulated:

  • Circle (CRCL): -20%, worst single-day decline since listing
  • Coinbase (COIN): -10%, as the exchange shares USDC reserve income with Circle
  • Broader crypto indices: muted reaction

The provision directly threatens the USDC distribution model. Coinbase, Circle's largest distribution partner, offers USDC holders a yield derived from reserve income — the primary incentive for users to hold USDC on the platform rather than traditional dollars. Eliminating that yield could reduce the stickiness of USDC deposits.

Citigroup published a note on March 26 arguing that stablecoin rewards restrictions "can slow but not stop" USDC's growth, noting that payment and settlement utility — not yield — drives the majority of USDC demand. Bitwise CIO Matt Hougan projected Circle could reach a $75 billion valuation by 2030 despite the regulatory headwind, arguing that transaction volume growth would compensate for yield compression.

The provision remains in draft form. The existing GENIUS Act, already enacted, established the federal framework for payment stablecoins but did not address yield restrictions. The CLARITY Act would layer additional restrictions on top of the GENIUS framework, with OCC and Federal Reserve rulemaking expected by July 2026.

Chain Distribution and Settlement Patterns

USDC's multi-chain strategy has expanded to 30 native blockchain deployments as of February 2026. The distribution of supply reveals where stablecoin settlement actually occurs:

USDC Supply by Chain:

  • Ethereum: ~$55 billion (70% of supply)
  • Solana: ~$8.4 billion (11%)
  • Base: growing rapidly (specific Q1 figure not disclosed)
  • 27 additional chains: remainder

USDC transfer volume on Solana surpassed Ethereum on December 29, 2025, and has maintained that lead into Q1 2026. The pattern mirrors a broader settlement trend: Ethereum hosts the capital, Solana processes the transactions. This bifurcation has implications for fee revenue, MEV dynamics, and validator economics on both chains.

USDT's chain distribution tells a different story. Over 60% of USDT supply — approximately $112 billion — resides on TRON, reinforcing that network's role as the primary retail and emerging-market settlement layer. Ethereum holds the second-largest USDT allocation.

The chain divergence between USDC and USDT maps roughly onto their user bases: USDC skews institutional, DeFi-native, and U.S.-regulated; USDT skews retail, cross-border remittance, and offshore.

Institutional Positioning

Several developments in Q1 2026 reinforced USDC's institutional positioning:

BlackRock/Uniswap Integration (February 2026): BlackRock enabled trading of its BUIDL tokenized Treasury fund on UniswapX, with USDC as the primary settlement pair. Access is restricted to qualified purchasers ($5 million+ in assets). BlackRock simultaneously purchased an undisclosed quantity of UNI tokens. BUIDL's AUM stood at approximately $2.4 billion at the time of integration.

Visa Stablecoin Cards: Visa reported its stablecoin-linked card spend reached a $3.5 billion annualized run rate in Q4 FY2025, representing approximately 460% year-over-year growth. Both USDC and USDT are supported across multiple card programs.

Macquarie Research: Investment bank Macquarie published a March 10 note stating stablecoins "are starting to reshape payments and banking," citing the $312 billion market cap and adoption curves that parallel early mobile payments in emerging markets.

Mizuho Coverage: Mizuho raised its Circle price target from $100 to $120 on March 13, citing stronger USDC usage metrics and growth expectations in prediction markets and agentic commerce. The bank projects USDC "meaningful wallets" reaching 11.7 million by 2027, up from a prior estimate of 10 million, and USDC market capitalization reaching $139 billion from a prior estimate of $123 billion.

Key Takeaways

  • The stablecoin market reached $320 billion in March 2026, up ~50% year-over-year, with Tether and Circle controlling 93% of the total.
  • USDC captured 64% of adjusted transaction volume in 2026, surpassing USDT for the first time since 2019, despite holding only 25% of market cap — a structural inversion of the supply-dominance pattern.
  • Circle reported $2.7 billion in 2025 revenue, with 96% derived from reserve income, creating concentrated exposure to interest rate movements and the proposed CLARITY Act yield ban.
  • Tether earned $10 billion in 2025 profit and announced its first Big Four audit on March 24 — the same day the CLARITY Act draft emerged — in a convergence of competitive and regulatory pressure.
  • The CLARITY Act's proposed ban on stablecoin yield sent Circle stock down 20% in its worst session on record, exposing the distribution model's dependency on reserve-income sharing with Coinbase.
  • USDC settlement is bifurcating: Ethereum holds 70% of supply, but Solana processes more transfer volume — mirroring a capital-vs.-throughput split across chains.
  • Sell-side consensus (Mizuho, Citigroup, Bitwise) holds that transaction volume growth and payment utility will outweigh yield restrictions over the medium term.

Conclusion

The stablecoin market in Q1 2026 is defined by a paradox. The issuer with the largest supply (Tether) is not the issuer with the most usage (Circle). The issuer with the most institutional credibility (Circle) is the one most exposed to proposed regulation. The issuer that has historically resisted transparency (Tether) is now pursuing a Big Four audit, while the transparent, publicly-listed issuer (Circle) saw its stock crater on a single legislative draft.

The $320 billion stablecoin market now exceeds the GDP of Finland. What determines its trajectory is no longer adoption — that question is settled. The open questions are regulatory: will the CLARITY Act yield ban survive committee markup, how will the OCC implement GENIUS Act standards by July, and whether Tether's audit produces findings that alter the competitive balance.

For market participants, the operational implication is that stablecoin selection is no longer a neutral infrastructure choice. It is an exposure decision — to specific regulatory regimes, revenue models, chain ecosystems, and audit standards. The days of treating USDT and USDC as interchangeable are over.

Sources & References

  1. Mizuho Raises Circle Price Target as USDC Volume Overtakes USDT — CoinDesk, March 13, 2026. Mizuho research note on USDC adjusted volume surpassing USDT.
  2. Circle Reports Q4 & FY 2025 Financial Results — Circle Press Room. Q4 revenue, USDC circulation, and 2026 guidance.
  3. Circle Q4 Revenue $770M, USDC Hits $75B — The Block. Q4 2025 earnings breakdown.
  4. Tether Posts $10B Profit in 2025, Treasury Holdings Hit $141B — CoinDesk, January 30, 2026. Full-year 2025 financial attestation data.
  5. Tether Signs Big Four Firm for First Full Audit — Tether.io, March 24, 2026. Audit engagement announcement.
  6. Tether Big Four Audit Announcement — Fortune, March 24, 2026. Context on audit scope and timing.
  7. Circle Stock Plunges 20% on CLARITY Act Draft — CoinDesk, March 24, 2026. Market impact of yield ban proposal.
  8. Citi: Stablecoin Rewards Restrictions Can Slow but Not Stop USDC — CoinDesk, March 26, 2026. Citigroup analyst note.
  9. USDC Market Cap Nears $80B Amid UAE Capital Flight — Cointelegraph. Supply growth drivers.
  10. Stablecoin Market Cap Hits $320 Billion — CryptoTicker, March 2026. Aggregate market data.
  11. Visa & Mastercard's 2026 Stablecoin Bets — AInvest. Visa stablecoin card spend data.
  12. Macquarie: Stablecoins Reshaping Payments and Banking — CoinDesk, March 10, 2026. Macquarie research note.
  13. BlackRock BUIDL Trading on Uniswap — The Block, February 2026. BlackRock/Securitize/Uniswap integration.
  14. Solana Propels USDC Past Tether — CryptoSlate. Chain-level settlement patterns.