← Back to Webthreepedia
WEBTHREEPEDIA RESEARCH

[MARKET UPDATE] Schwab, E*TRADE Launch Spot Crypto at Sub-1% Fees

Zephyra|May 15, 2026|BPF
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

Charles Schwab Corp. began rolling out spot Bitcoin and Ethereum trading to its 39.1 million active brokerage accounts on May 13, 2026, charging 75 basis points per trade. One week earlier, Morgan Stanley's E*TRADE launched its own pilot at 50 basis points for 8.6 million clients. Together, the t...

"Clients said they have 98% of their wealth here at Schwab and they might hold a percent or two at some digital native firm to hold their crypto, and they really want to bring it back to Schwab because they trust us." — Rick Wurster, CEO, Charles Schwab

Executive Summary

Charles Schwab Corp. began rolling out spot Bitcoin and Ethereum trading to its 39.1 million active brokerage accounts on May 13, 2026, charging 75 basis points per trade. One week earlier, Morgan Stanley's E*TRADE launched its own pilot at 50 basis points for 8.6 million clients. Together, the two firms custody approximately $12.6 trillion in client assets.

The launches mark a structural shift: spot cryptocurrency trading is migrating from crypto-native venues into legacy brokerage infrastructure. Coinbase, which posted a $394 million net loss in Q1 2026, now faces fee compression from institutions whose client acquisition costs are effectively zero — the accounts already exist. Robinhood's crypto revenue fell 47% year-over-year in Q1 2026 to $134 million even before the new entrants began onboarding clients.

Underpinning both launches is a new federal custody framework. The OCC granted national trust bank charters to Paxos, Circle, Fidelity Digital Assets, Ripple, and BitGo in late 2025, creating regulated infrastructure that traditional brokerages can plug into without building crypto-native stacks from scratch.

Table of Contents

  1. The Schwab Launch: Structure and Pricing
  2. Morgan Stanley's E*TRADE: Undercutting the Field
  3. Fee Comparison: The Compression Table
  4. Crypto-Native Platforms Under Pressure
  5. The OCC Trust Charter Pipeline
  6. ETF-to-Spot Rotation Signal
  7. What the Data Implies
  8. Key Takeaways
  9. Conclusion
  10. Sources & References

The Schwab Launch: Structure and Pricing

Charles Schwab reported $11.77 trillion in client assets and 39.1 million active brokerage accounts as of Q1 2026. On May 12, the firm announced that its Schwab Crypto product would begin phased enrollment for eligible retail clients, starting with Bitcoin and Ethereum — which Schwab noted represent approximately 75% of total crypto market capitalization.

The architecture separates custody from execution. Charles Schwab Premier Bank serves as the primary custodian, handling safekeeping and record-keeping. Paxos, which received OCC national trust bank status in December 2025, provides sub-custody and trade execution. Clients access crypto trading alongside equities, options, and fixed income through Schwab.com, Schwab Mobile, and the thinkorswim platform.

Pricing: 75 basis points on the dollar value of each trade. No separate account maintenance fees. The service launched in all U.S. states except New York and Louisiana.

A notable constraint: Schwab Crypto does not currently support deposits or withdrawals of external digital assets. Clients cannot transfer existing BTC or ETH held elsewhere into their Schwab accounts, nor can they withdraw to self-custody wallets. Schwab has indicated these features may be added later.

The firm disclosed that Schwab clients already hold approximately 20% of all spot crypto ETP assets industry-wide, suggesting substantial latent demand within the existing client base.

Morgan Stanley's E*TRADE: Undercutting the Field

Morgan Stanley moved first. On May 6, its E*TRADE platform launched a spot crypto trading pilot for its 8.6 million retail clients at 50 basis points per trade — the lowest fee among traditional brokerages. The initial asset list includes Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Solana.

Jed Finn, head of wealth management at Morgan Stanley, described the initiative as part of a broader strategy: "This is much bigger than trading crypto at a cheaper rate."

Morgan Stanley's crypto push extends beyond E*TRADE. The bank launched the Morgan Stanley Bitcoin Trust on April 8, 2026, with a 0.14% management fee. It has also signaled plans to add tokenized equity trading on the institutional side in the second half of 2026.

The E*TRADE pilot is expected to reach all 8.6 million clients later in 2026. Full rollout timelines have not been disclosed.

Fee Comparison: The Compression Table

The following table compares crypto trading fees across major platforms as of May 2026:

| Platform | Fee Structure | Client Base | Assets Available | |---|---|---|---| | Morgan Stanley E*TRADE | 50 bps per trade | 8.6M accounts | BTC, ETH, SOL | | Charles Schwab | 75 bps per trade | 39.1M accounts | BTC, ETH | | Robinhood | 0.03%–0.95% spread | 27.4M funded accounts | 25+ tokens | | Fidelity Crypto | 1% spread | Not disclosed | BTC, ETH, LTC, SOL, FIDD | | Coinbase (retail) | Up to 4% (tiered) | Not disclosed | 250+ tokens |

The pattern is clear: traditional brokerages are entering at fee levels that compress Coinbase's retail margins. E*TRADE's 50 bps and Schwab's 75 bps sit well below Fidelity's 1% and far below Coinbase's retail tier, which can reach 4% on small transactions. Robinhood's spread-based model occupies a middle position.

The differentiator for crypto-native platforms remains asset breadth. Coinbase lists 250+ tokens. Schwab offers two. But for the retail investor whose crypto allocation is limited to BTC and ETH — which Schwab estimates at 75% of market capitalization — the pricing advantage is with the legacy brokerages.

Crypto-Native Platforms Under Pressure

Coinbase reported Q1 2026 revenue of $1.4 billion alongside a net loss of $394 million. Total crypto market capitalization and trading volumes declined more than 20% quarter-over-quarter. The firm achieved a record 8.6% global trading volume market share, but this was driven by institutional and derivatives growth — retail spot trading, its historically highest-margin segment, softened.

Robinhood's Q1 2026 crypto revenue fell 47% year-over-year to $134 million. Crypto notional trading volumes dropped 48% to $24 billion. Crypto represented 13% of total revenue, down from roughly 25% in the prior year. Robinhood's total revenue rose 15% to $1.07 billion, driven by options and event contracts — not crypto.

The brokerage entrants don't need crypto to be profitable on a standalone basis. Schwab CEO Rick Wurster stated: "I think the cryptocurrency business will be accretive, but we've already won over these clients even without it." For Schwab and Morgan Stanley, crypto is a retention tool, not a revenue center. Their economics work if crypto trading prevents the 1–2% of client assets that migrate to Coinbase or Robinhood from leaving.

This asymmetry is the structural threat to crypto-native platforms. Coinbase and Robinhood must monetize crypto to survive. Schwab and Morgan Stanley merely need to offer it.

The OCC Trust Charter Pipeline

The regulatory infrastructure enabling these launches was assembled over the preceding six months. In December 2025, the OCC granted conditional national trust bank charters to five firms: Paxos, Circle, Fidelity Digital Assets, Ripple, and BitGo. These charters allow the firms to custody, trade, and settle digital assets under federal supervision.

On April 1, 2026, the OCC issued Bulletin 2026-4, clarifying that national trust banks can engage in non-fiduciary activities alongside fiduciary ones — a ruling that directly supports crypto custody as a core business function.

Paxos converted from a state trust company to a federally regulated national trust bank. This conversion is what enables its role as sub-custodian and trade executor for Charles Schwab. The Paxos infrastructure handles order routing, trade matching, and settlement, while Schwab Premier Bank holds legal custody of client assets.

The OCC pipeline has created a modular custody layer that traditional financial institutions can integrate without building proprietary blockchain infrastructure. Eleven companies were reported to be in the charter application queue as of early 2026, according to FinTech Weekly.

ETF-to-Spot Rotation Signal

Schwab's crypto launch on May 13 coincided with $233.25 million in net outflows from U.S. spot Bitcoin ETFs. BlackRock's iShares Bitcoin Trust (IBIT) saw outflows of $32.95 million. Fidelity's Wise Origin Bitcoin Fund recorded outflows of $86.13 million.

Correlation is not causation. A single day of ETF outflows does not establish a trend. However, the data point raises a structural question: as traditional brokerages offer direct spot crypto trading at lower all-in costs than ETF management fees plus trading commissions, will retail capital rotate from indirect ETF exposure to direct holdings?

The economics suggest it should, at the margin. A spot Bitcoin ETF carries a management fee (IBIT charges 0.25% annually) plus a brokerage commission on the ETF trade itself. Direct spot trading on Schwab costs 75 bps per transaction with no ongoing management fee. For a buy-and-hold investor, the breakeven period is roughly one year — after which direct holding becomes cheaper.

BlackRock's IBIT held $66.9 billion in AUM by early May 2026, representing approximately 66% of the U.S. spot Bitcoin ETF market. Whether retail rotation materially dents these balances depends on whether self-custody features are eventually added to the brokerage platforms, and whether investors value the simplicity of ETF exposure over direct ownership.

What the Data Implies

Three structural shifts are visible in the data:

1. Distribution trumps technology. Schwab's 39.1 million accounts and Morgan Stanley's 8.6 million E*TRADE accounts represent distribution networks that no crypto-native firm has replicated. These clients are not crypto enthusiasts; they are retirement savers, wealth management clients, and self-directed investors for whom crypto is a 1–5% portfolio allocation. Reaching them inside existing brokerage relationships is cheaper than acquiring them as new crypto exchange users.

2. Custody is becoming modular. The OCC charter framework has created a plug-and-play custody layer. Schwab did not build a blockchain team. It contracted Paxos. This modular architecture means any federally chartered bank or brokerage can add crypto trading by integrating with an OCC-chartered trust company, reducing the technical moat around crypto-native exchanges.

3. Fee compression is structural, not cyclical. E*TRADE at 50 bps and Schwab at 75 bps set new floor prices for retail crypto trading. Coinbase's tiered retail fee structure, which can reach 4%, is now competitively exposed for the highest-volume assets. The pressure on Coinbase's retail margins will persist regardless of crypto market conditions.

Key Takeaways

  • Charles Schwab launched spot BTC/ETH trading on May 13, 2026, for 39.1 million accounts at 75 bps per trade, with Paxos handling execution and sub-custody.
  • Morgan Stanley's E*TRADE entered one week earlier at 50 bps for 8.6 million clients, adding Solana alongside BTC and ETH.
  • Combined, the two platforms manage $12.6 trillion in client assets. Neither firm needs crypto to be independently profitable — it functions as a client retention tool.
  • Coinbase posted a $394 million Q1 net loss. Robinhood's crypto revenue fell 47% YoY. Both face margin pressure from entrants with zero incremental acquisition costs.
  • The OCC's national trust bank charter framework, which approved Paxos, Circle, Fidelity, Ripple, and BitGo in December 2025, created the modular custody infrastructure enabling these launches.
  • Schwab's launch coincided with $233 million in Bitcoin ETF outflows, raising early questions about ETF-to-spot rotation among retail investors.

Conclusion

The entry of Charles Schwab and Morgan Stanley's E*TRADE into spot crypto trading marks the point at which digital asset trading crossed from a specialized activity into a standard brokerage feature. The firms are not competing on crypto ideology or token selection breadth. They are competing on the same basis they compete in equities: price, distribution, and trust.

For crypto-native platforms, the threat is not immediate revenue loss on altcoin trading — legacy brokerages offer only two to three assets. The threat is on BTC and ETH, which constitute three-quarters of market capitalization and the majority of retail volume. If the median retail investor's crypto portfolio is 60% BTC and 30% ETH, Schwab and E*TRADE can serve 90% of that allocation at a fraction of the cost.

The OCC's charter pipeline ensures more entrants will follow. The fee floor has been set. The distribution advantages are structural. What remains to be seen is whether crypto-native platforms can defend their positions through product differentiation — broader token selection, DeFi integrations, staking, and self-custody features — or whether the bulk of retail crypto volume migrates to institutions that were, until recently, skeptical of the asset class entirely.

Sources & References

  1. Charles Schwab Announces Details of Spot Crypto Trading Launch — Official Schwab press release, May 12, 2026
  2. Charles Schwab Begins Offering Bitcoin, Ethereum Trading to US Users — Decrypt, May 13, 2026
  3. Charles Schwab begins U.S. rollout of spot crypto trading for retail customers — CoinDesk, May 13, 2026
  4. Morgan Stanley Debuts Crypto Trading, Undercuts Rivals on Price — Bloomberg, May 6, 2026
  5. Morgan Stanley's E*TRADE Commences Crypto Trading Pilot — Yahoo Finance, May 2026
  6. Charles Schwab to launch direct bitcoin, ether trading to compete with Robinhood — CNBC, April 16, 2026
  7. Coinbase Q1 Financial Results Show Resilient Performance — Coinbase Investor Relations, Q1 2026
  8. Robinhood Reports First Quarter 2026 Results — Robinhood Investor Relations, April 28, 2026
  9. Charles Schwab Rolls Out Bitcoin, Ethereum Trading As ETF Outflows Hit $233 Million — Benzinga, May 13, 2026
  10. OCC green-lights Circle, Ripple, Paxos for national trust bank charters — Banking Dive, 2025
  11. OCC Approves Paxos Application to Convert to OCC Trust — Paxos Newsroom, December 2025
  12. Schwab Reports Monthly Activity Highlights — Schwab Investor Relations, 2026
  13. Morgan Stanley pilots crypto trading on E*Trade with 50-basis-point fee — The Block, May 2026