Block Inc. (NYSE: XYZ) on March 30, 2026 auto-enabled bitcoin payments via the Lightning Network across its Square point-of-sale platform, covering an estimated 4 million U.S. merchants. The shift from opt-in to opt-out is the largest single expansion of bitcoin payment acceptance in U.S. retail ...
Block Inc. (NYSE: XYZ) on March 30, 2026 auto-enabled bitcoin payments via the Lightning Network across its Square point-of-sale platform, covering an estimated 4 million U.S. merchants. The shift from opt-in to opt-out is the largest single expansion of bitcoin payment acceptance in U.S. retail history. Processing fees are waived through 2026, with a flat 1% fee taking effect in 2027 — undercutting Visa and Mastercard interchange rates that average 2.35% per transaction.
The move lands in the middle of a broader fintech payments infrastructure war. Stripe launched its Tempo blockchain mainnet on March 18 for stablecoin settlement. PayPal reports 40% of U.S. merchants now accept some form of digital asset. Block itself is simultaneously executing a 40%-plus workforce reduction, replacing headcount with AI systems while raising 2026 gross profit guidance to $12.2 billion. The question is not whether crypto enters mainstream payment rails — it is which protocol and which intermediary captures the economics.
Square's bitcoin integration operates on an opt-out basis as of March 30, 2026. Every eligible U.S. seller — approximately 4 million merchants — now accepts bitcoin by default. No new hardware is required. No manual configuration. The feature is embedded directly into existing Square terminals and software.
The mechanics work as follows: a customer initiates payment via QR code at checkout. The transaction settles near-instantly over Bitcoin's Lightning Network. By default, the received bitcoin is converted to U.S. dollars at the point of sale. Merchants bear zero price volatility risk unless they actively choose to hold bitcoin. Those who prefer exposure can toggle a setting to retain BTC.
New York State is excluded from the rollout, consistent with the state's BitLicense regulatory framework that imposes additional compliance requirements on crypto-related businesses. All other U.S. states are covered, with Square requiring only standard seller verification for eligibility.
Block processed $250 billion in Gross Payment Volume across 5.9 billion transactions in 2025, according to its 10-K filing. The bitcoin payment layer sits on top of that existing infrastructure. Square has not disclosed projected bitcoin transaction volumes, but the sheer scale of the merchant base — 4 million sellers processing hundreds of billions in annual volume — makes even single-digit percentage adoption material.
The fee structure is the economic centerpiece of the rollout.
Square is waiving all processing fees on bitcoin payments through the end of 2026. Beginning in 2027, a flat 1% transaction fee applies. For comparison:
| Payment Method | Typical Merchant Fee | |---|---| | Visa (card-present, consumer credit) | 1.80% + $0.10 | | Mastercard (card-present, consumer credit) | 1.70% + $0.10 | | Average blended card rate | 2.35% | | Square bitcoin (through 2026) | 0% | | Square bitcoin (2027 onward) | 1.00% |
The differential is significant. On a $50 transaction, a merchant pays approximately $1.18 on a standard Visa swipe versus $0.00 on bitcoin through 2026 and $0.50 starting in 2027. Across millions of transactions, the savings compound.
The zero-fee period functions as a market-penetration subsidy. Block absorbs the Lightning Network routing costs and any conversion spread during this window. The strategy resembles classic payment-network economics: acquire volume first, monetize later. Whether merchants remain on bitcoin rails once the 1% fee kicks in depends on whether consumer demand materializes during the free period.
BitPay, a competing crypto payment processor, charges 1% on standard transactions. BTCPay Server, an open-source alternative used by over 12,000 merchants globally, charges no fees but requires self-hosting. Square's advantage is distribution — 4 million merchants already using its ecosystem, with zero migration friction.
The rollout depends on Lightning Network capacity and reliability. As of March 2026, the network operates across approximately 17,000 public nodes and 40,000 payment channels, with total capacity exceeding 5,400 BTC (approximately $378 million at current prices).
The Lightning Network crossed $1 billion in monthly transaction volume in 2025, according to data tracked by CoinLaw. Monthly transactions exceed 12 million. The network's growth pattern shows institutional capital driving capacity expansion — larger channels, fewer new nodes — rather than grassroots retail adoption.
Square's entry changes this dynamic. The addition of 4 million potential acceptance points represents the largest single injection of merchant-side liquidity demand the Lightning Network has experienced. If even 5% of Square's merchant base processes one bitcoin transaction per week, monthly transaction counts could increase by 800,000 or more.
The Lightning Network's architecture routes payments through a mesh of payment channels, and settlement latency typically falls under one second. For merchants accustomed to 1-3 business day settlement windows on card-network transactions, near-instant finality is a structural improvement — though Square's auto-conversion to dollars means merchants receive fiat in their standard settlement cadence regardless.
The bitcoin payments rollout arrives during a period of aggressive restructuring at Block. On February 26, 2026, the company announced workforce cuts exceeding 40%, reducing headcount from over 10,000 to under 6,000. The restructuring carries $450-$500 million in one-time charges.
Block simultaneously raised its 2026 guidance: $12.2 billion in gross profit (up 18% year-over-year) and $3.2 billion in adjusted operating income, implying a 26% margin. The market responded: XYZ shares surged 20% on the restructuring announcement, closing at $62.82. Needham analyst Mayank Tandon raised his price target from $80 to $90, according to Benzinga.
The company holds 8,883 BTC on its balance sheet as of its latest 10-K, valued at approximately $622 million. Bitcoin Ecosystem gross profit grew 10% year-over-year in Q4 2025. Cash App, Block's consumer arm, reached 59 million monthly transacting actives handling $316 billion in inflows.
Block's strategy is a vertical integration play: Cash App as the consumer wallet, Square as the merchant terminal, Lightning Network as the settlement rail, and the company's own bitcoin holdings as a balance-sheet hedge. Jack Dorsey has publicly described himself as a "bitcoin purist," though he acknowledged in a March 7, 2026 interview with CoinDesk that Block would "reluctantly" support stablecoins due to customer demand.
Block is not operating in isolation. The payments infrastructure layer is seeing simultaneous entries from multiple major fintechs.
Stripe — Tempo Blockchain. Stripe and Paradigm launched Tempo, a Layer-1 blockchain purpose-built for stablecoin payments, on mainnet March 18, 2026. Tempo handles over 100,000 transactions per second with sub-second finality. Testnet participants include Visa, Mastercard, Nubank, Shopify, and UBS. Klarna launched a bank-issued stablecoin on Tempo for cross-border settlement. Stripe's approach is stablecoin-native rather than bitcoin-native — a fundamental philosophical divergence from Block.
PayPal. According to a January 2026 PayPal newsroom release, 40% of U.S. merchants now accept digital assets. PayPal CEO Alex Chriss has prioritized blockchain integration across the $56 billion payment platform. PayPal's PYUSD stablecoin and its Venmo integration give it both consumer and merchant distribution.
Fee Competition. Traditional processors charge 2-3% per transaction. Crypto payment gateways typically charge 0-1%. The economic incentive for merchants is clear, particularly for small businesses operating on thin margins where a 1-2 percentage point reduction in payment processing costs flows directly to the bottom line.
The competitive map is fragmenting along protocol lines. Block bets on bitcoin and Lightning. Stripe bets on stablecoins and a proprietary chain. PayPal hedges across multiple tokens. The market will ultimately select based on consumer adoption, merchant economics, and regulatory treatment — none of which are settled.
The regulatory environment is in flux. The GENIUS Act, signed into law July 18, 2025, established the first U.S. framework for payment stablecoins, requiring 1:1 reserve backing and monthly disclosure. Its implementation deadline is January 18, 2027, or 120 days after final regulations are issued.
The CLARITY Act — a broader market-structure bill covering digital asset classification — faces a make-or-break Senate Banking Committee markup scheduled for April 13-20, 2026. According to Coinpedia, if the bill does not advance by May, digital asset legislation may not receive serious consideration again until 2027. Senator Cynthia Lummis has confirmed plans for the April markup. Remaining friction points include DeFi treatment, stablecoin yield provisions (described as "99% resolved" by FinTech Weekly), and a proposed attachment of community bank deregulation provisions.
Square's New York exclusion illustrates the patchwork regulatory reality. The state's BitLicense regime, in place since 2015, requires a separate license for virtual currency business activity. Block has not disclosed whether it intends to pursue New York inclusion.
The SEC and CFTC jointly classified 16 crypto assets as "digital commodities" in March 2026. Bitcoin's commodity status was already established, but the broader classification framework affects how payment processors structure compliance around multi-asset acceptance.
Block's opt-out bitcoin rollout across 4 million merchants is a distribution play, not a technology play. The Lightning Network existed before; the economic incentive of zero fees existed before. What changed is that the default setting flipped. Merchants who previously had to seek out bitcoin acceptance now have to actively refuse it.
The fee economics are compelling in the short term. Zero percent through 2026, 1% thereafter, versus 2.35% average on card networks. Whether that differential drives lasting behavioral change among consumers — who must choose to pay in bitcoin rather than swipe a card — remains the central unknown.
The broader dynamic is the fragmentation of payment settlement. Block uses bitcoin. Stripe built a proprietary stablecoin chain. PayPal spreads across multiple protocols. Each is making a bet on which settlement rail captures the most economic value in a world where payment processing fees are compressing toward zero. The value will accrue to whoever controls the default — and Block just made bitcoin the default for 4 million businesses.