← Back to Webthreepedia
WEBTHREEPEDIA RESEARCH

[DEEP DIVE] Schwab Opens 2T Platform to Spot Crypto

Zephyra|April 5, 2026|BPF
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

Charles Schwab, the largest U.S. retail brokerage with $11.9 trillion in client assets and 46 million accounts, opened a waitlist on April 3, 2026, for its Schwab Crypto account — a direct spot Bitcoin and Ethereum trading service routed through its banking subsidiary, Charles Schwab Premier Bank...

Executive Summary

Charles Schwab, the largest U.S. retail brokerage with $11.9 trillion in client assets and 46 million accounts, opened a waitlist on April 3, 2026, for its Schwab Crypto account — a direct spot Bitcoin and Ethereum trading service routed through its banking subsidiary, Charles Schwab Premier Bank, SSB. The firm plans a limited Q2 2026 pilot before wider rollout.

The move arrives alongside Morgan Stanley's E*Trade, which is preparing its own crypto trading launch via a Zerohash partnership, and Fidelity, which already offers direct BTC and ETH trading. Together, these three firms manage over $32 trillion in client assets. The question is whether incumbents entering late can capture meaningful volume from entrenched crypto-native platforms — Coinbase, Robinhood, and Kraken — that built their user bases during years of regulatory ambiguity.

Bernstein analysts Gautam Chhugani and colleagues assessed the move as "too little too late," arguing that traditional firms "have been slow to crypto while offering limited products." The data, however, is more nuanced. Schwab reported a 400% increase in traffic to its crypto website in 2025, with 70% of that traffic originating from non-clients — a demand signal that challenges the late-mover thesis.

Table of Contents

  1. The Schwab Crypto Account: Structure and Timeline
  2. Regulatory Prerequisites That Cleared the Path
  3. Competitive Landscape: Fee Structures and Market Share
  4. The E*Trade and Fidelity Factor
  5. What the Traffic Data Reveals
  6. Risks and Open Questions
  7. Key Takeaways
  8. Conclusion

The Schwab Crypto Account: Structure and Timeline

Schwab's crypto offering will operate through Charles Schwab Premier Bank, SSB, the firm's state savings bank subsidiary. The product is structured as a dedicated "Schwab Crypto" account that sits alongside clients' existing brokerage, retirement, and advisory accounts within a unified dashboard.

Key structural details disclosed to date:

  • Assets supported: Bitcoin (BTC) and Ethereum (ETH) at launch. No timeline for additional tokens.
  • Custody model: Orders processed internally through Premier Bank. Schwab has not confirmed whether custody will be self-managed or outsourced to a third-party custodian.
  • Account access: Available in all U.S. states except New York and Louisiana. Not offered in U.S. territories or international jurisdictions.
  • Insurance status: Crypto holdings will not qualify for SIPC or FDIC insurance, per standard industry practice for digital asset positions.
  • Pricing: Not publicly disclosed. No fee schedule, spread structure, or subscription model has been announced.
  • Existing crypto products: Schwab already facilitates access to crypto ETFs, Bitcoin futures, and its proprietary Schwab Crypto Thematic Index (ticker: STCE).

The phased rollout — waitlist now, limited pilot in Q2, wider availability in H1 2026 — mirrors the conservative cadence typical of bank-affiliated financial services launches.

Regulatory Prerequisites That Cleared the Path

Schwab's ability to offer spot crypto trading through a banking subsidiary required multiple regulatory shifts that occurred between late 2025 and early 2026:

Federal Reserve policy reversal (December 2025): The FRB withdrew its 2023 Policy Statement restricting bank involvement in digital assets and issued a replacement framework granting banks discretion to engage in crypto-related activities under existing supervisory processes.

SEC-CFTC Joint Guidance (March 17, 2026): The SEC and CFTC published their first formal joint interpretation clarifying which crypto assets fall under securities law versus commodities law. This resolved the classification ambiguity that had paralyzed bank compliance departments for years. The guidance explicitly permits broker-dealers to hold crypto and tokenized assets subject to prescribed policies addressing blockchain malfunctions, 51% attacks, hard forks, and airdrops.

OCC-FDIC-FRB Capital Neutrality Statement (March 5, 2026): The three banking regulators jointly confirmed that tokenized securities receive the same capital treatment as their non-tokenized equivalents. While not directly about spot crypto trading, this statement established the principle of technology neutrality that underpins the banking sector's comfort with digital asset operations.

GENIUS Act Implementation (February 25, 2026): The OCC issued a 376-page Notice of Proposed Rulemaking to create an entirely new regulatory chapter (12 CFR 15) for stablecoin issuers, with a 60-day public comment period. The stablecoin framework provides a regulatory anchor for the broader crypto banking ecosystem.

These four developments collectively removed the compliance barriers that had kept Schwab — and other bank-affiliated brokerages — on the sidelines.

Competitive Landscape: Fee Structures and Market Share

The U.S. retail crypto trading market is dominated by platforms that moved first. A fee comparison across major platforms illustrates the competitive dynamics Schwab enters:

| Platform | Fee/Spread Model | Cryptocurrencies Supported | Client Base | |---|---|---|---| | Coinbase | 0–0.60% fees; ~0.5% spread (standard); lower on Advanced Trade | 250+ | ~100M+ verified users | | Robinhood | Commission-free; 0.35–0.85% spread on BTC/ETH | 24+ tokens | ~24M funded accounts | | Fidelity Crypto | 1% fixed spread | BTC, ETH, LTC, SOL | Part of $5.8T AUM ecosystem | | E*Trade (Morgan Stanley) | Not disclosed; Zerohash infrastructure | BTC, ETH, SOL (planned) | 5M+ accounts | | Schwab Crypto | Not disclosed | BTC, ETH (at launch) | 46M accounts |

Robinhood controls approximately 30% of U.S. retail crypto trading revenue, according to Bernstein. Coinbase doubled its crypto trading volume market share in 2025, per its Q4 earnings disclosure. Robinhood's projected 2026 revenue of $6.8 billion (a 51.7% CAGR from 2024) reflects the embedded advantage of having built a crypto-native user experience years ahead of traditional brokerages.

Fidelity's 1% fixed spread is the highest among major platforms. This suggests a conservative pricing strategy aimed at buy-and-hold investors rather than active traders. If Schwab follows a similar model — high spread, low friction — it would compete for the same demographic: long-term allocators who value platform consolidation over execution cost.

The E*Trade and Fidelity Factor

Schwab is not entering this market alone. Morgan Stanley's E*Trade division is preparing its own H1 2026 crypto trading launch, backed by a partnership with Zerohash for liquidity, custody, and settlement. Morgan Stanley participated in Zerohash's $104 million Series D-2 funding round, a direct financial commitment to the infrastructure. E*Trade will initially support Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Solana — one token more than Schwab at launch.

Morgan Stanley manages almost $8 trillion in client assets across wealth management and institutional businesses. Combined with Schwab's $11.9 trillion, these two firms alone represent nearly $20 trillion in assets at institutions now preparing to offer direct crypto spot trading.

Fidelity remains ahead of both. Fidelity Crypto has offered direct BTC and ETH trading for over a year, and FBTC — its spot Bitcoin ETF — holds approximately $18.2 billion in net assets. Fidelity's head start provides a benchmark: despite managing $5.8 trillion and offering a feature-complete crypto product, Fidelity has not captured a transformative share of retail crypto trading. This data point tempers expectations for what Schwab and E*Trade can achieve at launch.

What the Traffic Data Reveals

Schwab's 400% year-over-year increase in crypto website traffic during 2025 — with 70% from non-clients — is the most telling data point in this story. It suggests a latent demand pool among mainstream investors who considered Schwab's crypto offerings but found them insufficient (ETFs and futures only, no spot).

Separately, Schwab disclosed a 90% spike in crypto-related interest across its platform, and that approximately one-third of new retail accounts originate from clients under age 28. If this younger demographic indexes heavily toward crypto, consolidating digital asset access within an existing brokerage relationship could be a meaningful client acquisition channel.

CEO Rick Wurster has characterized the crypto launch as demand-driven, stating in a November 2024 interview: "We'd also like to directly offer crypto … we've been waiting for a change in the regulatory environment in order to do that, and we're confident that we think that will come in short order." He subsequently confirmed in April 2025 that the firm expected to launch "within the next 12 months."

Risks and Open Questions

Several unresolved factors will determine whether Schwab's crypto offering gains traction:

Pricing opacity. Schwab has disclosed no fee schedule. In a market where Robinhood charges 0.35–0.85% spreads and Coinbase Advanced undercuts that, Schwab's pricing will be decisive. A Fidelity-like 1% spread would likely limit the product to passive allocators.

Custody model. Whether Schwab self-custodies through Premier Bank or uses a third-party custodian remains undisclosed. Self-custody via a bank subsidiary would be a structural differentiator; outsourced custody would reduce that edge.

No SIPC/FDIC coverage. Schwab's core value proposition is safety and trust. Explicitly carving crypto out of insurance protection may create friction for risk-averse clients who associate Schwab with insured accounts.

Two-token limitation. Launching with only BTC and ETH positions Schwab conservatively. Coinbase supports 250+ assets; Robinhood offers 24+. Schwab's product is designed for simplicity, not trading depth.

New York and Louisiana exclusion. New York's BitLicense regime and Louisiana's regulatory framework have kept Schwab out of two major markets. New York alone accounts for a disproportionate share of U.S. financial services activity.

Bear market timing. Bitcoin is down approximately 20% from its all-time high, per recent market data. Launching crypto trading into a declining market may depress initial adoption metrics.

Key Takeaways

  • Schwab opened its Schwab Crypto waitlist on April 3, 2026, targeting a Q2 limited pilot and H1 broader launch for spot BTC and ETH trading through Premier Bank, SSB.
  • The launch was enabled by four regulatory shifts between December 2025 and March 2026: the Fed's policy reversal, SEC-CFTC joint guidance, banking regulators' capital neutrality statement, and OCC GENIUS Act rulemaking.
  • Schwab and E*Trade (Morgan Stanley) collectively represent ~$20 trillion in assets at firms preparing to offer spot crypto; Fidelity has been live for over a year.
  • Bernstein analysts assessed the move as having "limited impact," citing entrenched positions held by Coinbase, Robinhood, and Kraken.
  • Schwab's 400% crypto website traffic increase (70% non-clients) represents a measurable demand signal, though conversion rates are unknown.
  • Pricing, custody model, and insurance limitations remain undisclosed or unresolved.

Conclusion

Schwab's crypto trading launch is not a first-mover story. It is a distribution story. The firm's 46 million accounts and $11.9 trillion asset base represent the largest single pool of retail capital that has not yet had direct access to spot crypto within its primary brokerage interface.

Whether that distribution advantage converts to meaningful trading volume depends on execution details that remain opaque — chiefly, pricing and custody. Fidelity's experience suggests that offering crypto through a traditional brokerage wrapper does not automatically capture market share from crypto-native platforms. But Schwab's traffic data implies a client base that wanted this product and was waiting for it.

The more consequential implication may be structural. When the three largest U.S. brokerages — Schwab, Fidelity, and Morgan Stanley's E*Trade — all offer spot crypto trading, the practical distinction between "crypto exchange" and "brokerage" erodes further. The economic value does not accrue to whoever offers the widest token selection. It accrues to whoever provides the most efficient, lowest-friction path from fiat to crypto and back, embedded within the accounts where capital already resides.

Sources & References

  1. Schwab plans spot crypto trading launch in first half of 2026, starting with BTC, ETH — CoinDesk, April 3, 2026
  2. Schwab and Morgan Stanley join the crypto race. They are way late, say analysts — DL News, May 7, 2025
  3. Schwab Preps Spot Bitcoin and Ether Trading Across $12 Trillion in Client Assets — Crypto.news, April 4, 2026
  4. Charles Schwab Brings Spot Bitcoin and Ether Trading to 46 Million Clients — SpazioCrypto, April 2026
  5. Morgan Stanley's E-Trade to Add Crypto Trading in Early 2026 — PYMNTS, 2025
  6. E*Trade to Launch Crypto Trading in 2026 with Zerohash — Cointelegraph, 2025
  7. SEC Clarifies the Application of Federal Securities Laws to Crypto Assets — SEC.gov, March 2026
  8. Charles Schwab Sees 90% Spike In Crypto Interest, Plans Spot Bitcoin Trading In 2026 — Bitcoin Magazine, 2025
  9. Schwab CEO Rick Wurster Confirms Spot Bitcoin Trading Coming in 2026 — Ecoinimist, April 2025
  10. Coinbase Delivers on Q4 Financial Outlook, Doubles Total Trading Volume and Crypto Trading Volume Market Share in 2025 — Coinbase Investor Relations, 2026