Polygon Labs cut staff for the second time in 2026 on July 16, shedding roles across multiple teams as it finalizes the integration of Coinme, a licensed crypto-exchange-and-ATM operator acquired in January for more than $250 million alongside wallet-infrastructure firm Sequence. The restructurin...
"This is a shift we started 12 months ago and have actually been building toward." — Marc Boiron, CEO, Polygon Labs
Polygon Labs cut staff for the second time in 2026 on July 16, shedding roles across multiple teams as it finalizes the integration of Coinme, a licensed crypto-exchange-and-ATM operator acquired in January for more than $250 million alongside wallet-infrastructure firm Sequence. The restructuring follows three years and at least 220 cumulative layoffs. The stated objective: profitability by 2027, not as a blockchain foundation, but as a stablecoin payments company.
The pivot rests on measurable network traction. Polygon processed $79.25 billion in stablecoin transfer volume in May 2026 — first among all blockchains by transaction count — and handled roughly 54% of all global USDC transfers in April. Visa added the network to its stablecoin settlement program, and Meta began routing USDC creator payouts through Polygon and Solana via Stripe. Yet the POL token trades at $0.08, down approximately 92% from its all-time high, raising a structural question: can a chain generate meaningful economic value for token holders when its primary product is low-cost payments?
On January 13, 2026, Polygon Labs signed definitive agreements to acquire two companies:
Combined price: over $250 million, per Polygon Labs' own disclosure. Wilson Sonsini served as legal counsel. The Sequence transaction was expected to close by February 2026; the Coinme deal was forecast for Q2, subject to regulatory approval. As of July 16, CEO Boiron described the Coinme integration as being "in the final stages."
Separately, Polygon Labs has been in talks to raise $50 million to $100 million in equity capital for a dedicated stablecoin-payment unit, according to The Information. The raise would fund the commercial rollout of the Open Money Stack, Polygon's B2B API suite for stablecoin settlement.
Polygon's product thesis is modular infrastructure for stablecoin-based money movement. The Open Money Stack, announced in January 2026, bundles:
The pitch targets fintechs and financial institutions, not retail crypto users. According to Polygon Labs, the stack is designed to be blockchain-agnostic — meaning it will support settlement on chains beyond Polygon's own. This positions Polygon Labs as a middleware company rather than a single-chain protocol team.
Fortune reported in January 2026 that Polygon Labs framed the strategy as an effort to "compete with Stripe" in stablecoin payments infrastructure.
Polygon's on-chain metrics tell a split story.
Transaction volume (strong):
Fee revenue (weak):
The gap between volume and revenue is not accidental. Polygon's competitive advantage in payments is low fees. Gas costs on Polygon PoS are fractions of a cent. The same characteristic that attracts stablecoin volume structurally limits per-transaction revenue.
In late April 2026, two events converged within days:
Visa added Polygon to its stablecoin settlement program alongside Base, Arc, Canton, and Tempo. The program allows card issuers to settle merchant payments using USDC outside traditional banking hours. Visa's stablecoin settlement program reached a $7 billion annualized run rate in Q2 2026, up 50% quarter-over-quarter.
Meta began paying creators in USDC on Polygon and Solana, routed through Stripe, starting with a pilot group in Colombia and the Philippines. Meta plans to expand USDC creator payouts to more than 160 markets by end of 2026.
Both represent meaningful enterprise validation. Visa processes over $14 trillion annually in card payments; even a fractional shift to stablecoin settlement on Polygon creates substantial volume. Meta's 3.98 billion monthly active users across its platforms represent a large potential distribution channel.
However, neither partnership guarantees fee revenue accruing to POL holders. Visa settles in USDC. Meta routes payments through Stripe. Polygon provides the settlement layer but captures minimal value per transaction.
Polygon Labs' headcount has contracted repeatedly:
| Date | Layoffs | % of Workforce | Context | |------|---------|---------------|---------| | Early 2023 | ~100 | ~20% | Market downturn | | February 2024 | 60 | ~19% | Cost restructuring | | January 2026 | 60 | Not disclosed | Post-acquisition reorganization | | July 16, 2026 | Undisclosed | Not disclosed | Coinme integration, profitability target |
Cumulative confirmed layoffs exceed 220. The company denied reports that the July round constituted 30% of its workforce, stating that total headcount "remains the same" when incoming Coinme and Sequence employees are counted. CEO Boiron described the latest cuts as "organizational, not performance-related," explaining that the company needs different talent for a payments business than a blockchain foundation.
The pattern — acquire, integrate, restructure — resembles traditional corporate M&A playbooks more than typical crypto-project operations. Polygon Labs has stated it aims to reach profitability by 2027.
POL (formerly MATIC, redenominated in September 2024) trades at approximately $0.08, with a 24-hour trading volume of $31.8 million. The token is approximately 92% below its all-time high of $1.29. In 2025, POL declined 77.79% — the worst annual performance in the token's history.
The divergence between network usage and token price reflects a structural issue. Polygon's value proposition — cheap, fast stablecoin settlement — generates high volume but minimal fees. Users transact in USDC, not POL. Gas fees are negligible by design. The economic value captured by the protocol is a rounding error relative to the value moving through it.
This creates a paradox: Polygon's success as a payments network may not translate into POL appreciation. The token secures the network through staking but does not capture a meaningful share of the $79 billion-per-month stablecoin flow. If Polygon Labs' commercial revenue comes from B2B API fees through the Open Money Stack rather than on-chain gas, POL holders may find themselves holding equity in the highway while the toll booth is operated by a separate entity.
The $50–$100 million raise under discussion is for equity in the payments business, not for POL tokens — a detail that underscores the potential decoupling of Polygon Labs' commercial success from POL token value.
Polygon's pivot into payments infrastructure places it against a different set of competitors than its original L2 scaling peers:
Among L2s, Polygon's original competitors — Arbitrum, Optimism, Base — continue to compete for DeFi and general-purpose smart-contract activity. Polygon's differentiation is regulatory licensing (via Coinme) and a payments-specific product stack.
Polygon Labs' transformation is one of the clearest examples of a crypto project abandoning the "build a chain, sell the token" model in favor of a traditional enterprise-software approach. The data supports the network's relevance: $79.25 billion in monthly stablecoin volume, 54% of global USDC transfers in April, Visa and Meta as integration partners. The commercial thesis is coherent.
The unresolved tension is between the corporate entity and the token. Polygon Labs may reach profitability by 2027 as a B2B payments middleware company. POL, which trades at $0.08 and generates roughly $49,000 per day in protocol revenue, may not participate in that outcome. The $50–$100 million equity raise — structured as equity, not token — is the clearest signal yet that value creation and value capture are diverging.
For the broader industry, Polygon's pivot illustrates a pattern: infrastructure chains that succeed in payments may find that their tokens are the least important part of the business.