Four firms are building full-service crypto prime brokerages modeled on Wall Street's institutional plumbing. Coinbase Prime holds $350 billion in custody assets and completed its service stack with cross-margining in March. Ripple Prime, the rebranded Hidden Road acquired for $1.25 billion, clos...
"If you can do all of those at scale, you're a prime. That was the last pillar. Now we're a prime by any standard, substitute crypto for any asset class." — John D'Agostino, Head of Strategy, Coinbase Institutional
Four firms are building full-service crypto prime brokerages modeled on Wall Street's institutional plumbing. Coinbase Prime holds $350 billion in custody assets and completed its service stack with cross-margining in March. Ripple Prime, the rebranded Hidden Road acquired for $1.25 billion, closed an upsized $275 million senior notes offering on August 18 at an 8.25% coupon with a BBB investment-grade rating from KBRA. FalconX, valued at $8 billion, filed a confidential S-1 with the SEC in May after four acquisitions in 18 months. JPMorgan launched Bitcoin-collateral lending through Kinexys in March, triggering competitive responses from Goldman Sachs, Citigroup, and Bank of America.
The institutional OTC market underpinning these services grew 109% year-over-year through 2025. Institutions now represent 72% of spot OTC volume in H1 2026, up from 61% in H2 2024. More than 70% of institutional trades above $1 million are executed via OTC desks. The race to own this flow has created a four-way contest between crypto-native platforms, acquisition-fueled consolidators, legacy banks, and hybrid entities bridging both worlds.
A traditional prime broker bundles five core services: execution, custody, financing (margin lending), derivatives access, and cross-margining. In equities, Goldman Sachs, Morgan Stanley, and JPMorgan dominate this function. The crypto market lacked an equivalent until 2026.
The gap persisted because crypto's infrastructure was fragmented. Exchanges handled execution but not custody. Custodians held assets but did not lend. Derivatives platforms operated in regulatory gray zones. No single entity delivered the full stack.
That changed in three stages. First, Coinbase assembled the components organically. Second, Ripple bought its way in through the Hidden Road acquisition. Third, FalconX executed a four-deal acquisition spree. Simultaneously, JPMorgan and Goldman Sachs began building crypto-collateral programs that replicate parts of the prime function from within the banking system.
Coinbase Prime's position rests on scale. The platform custodies over $350 billion in assets and processes $236 billion in quarterly trading volume. Its March 2026 rollout of cross-margining between spot and derivatives positions through Coinbase Financial Markets, a CFTC-regulated broker, completed its service offering.
Cross-margining allows institutional traders to reduce capital requirements by 10% to 20%. Under the structure, a trader's entire account balance functions as collateral across futures and spot positions simultaneously. Hedged positions — such as long spot holdings offset by short futures — receive more efficient margin treatment.
Coinbase's D'Agostino has argued the platform "stands alone" as crypto's only full-service prime broker, stating: "You can synthetically replicate a prime by patching services together," but "Coinbase is the only one doing all of it natively."
The claim is contested. Competitors point out that Coinbase's dual role as exchange and prime broker creates conflicts of interest absent in traditional finance, where prime brokers and exchanges are separate entities.
Ripple's $1.25 billion acquisition of Hidden Road, announced at Paris Blockchain Week in April 2025 and closed in October 2025, created the first crypto company to own a global, multi-asset prime broker. Hidden Road had built a business spanning crypto, FX, and fixed-income clearing before the acquisition.
Rebranded as Ripple Prime, the unit has tripled in size post-acquisition. On August 18, 2026, it closed a $275 million private placement of senior unsecured notes due in 2031 at an 8.25% coupon. Piper Sandler & Co. led the placement. KBRA assigned the notes a BBB investment-grade rating, matching Ripple Prime's own issuer rating from April 2026.
The offering was upsized from its original planned size after stronger-than-expected demand from institutional investors. Proceeds are earmarked for working capital and U.S. expansion, including technology and team growth.
The BBB rating is notable. It places Ripple Prime's debt on par with mid-tier corporate issuers in traditional finance — an unusual position for a crypto-adjacent entity. KBRA cited Ripple's strong capital position, including its XRP holdings, and Ripple Prime's growing balance sheet as rating drivers.
Ripple Prime's model differs from Coinbase's in a critical respect: it operates as a multi-asset prime broker, handling crypto alongside traditional asset classes. This positions it to serve institutions that want a single counterparty for both crypto and conventional trading, a structure familiar from traditional prime brokerage.
FalconX pursued a different strategy: rapid acquisition to assemble a diversified prime brokerage platform. Between January 2025 and July 2026, the firm completed four deals, each adding a distinct capability:
| Acquisition | Date | Capability Added | |---|---|---| | Arbelos Markets | January 2025 | Crypto derivatives desk | | Monarq Asset Management | June 2025 | Fund management fees | | 21Shares | November 2025 | Listed ETP/ETF income (~$11B AUM) | | bloXroute | July 2026 | On-chain execution technology |
The 21Shares deal was the largest. 21Shares was the world's largest provider of physically-backed crypto exchange-traded products with approximately $11 billion in assets under management at the time of acquisition.
FalconX filed a confidential S-1 with the SEC on or around May 6, 2026, with Cantor Fitzgerald as advisor. The firm was last valued at $8 billion with roughly $75 million in 2025 revenue. It serves more than 2,000 institutional clients.
The IPO filing positions FalconX as the first crypto prime broker to seek public market capital — a test of whether Wall Street will value an institutional crypto intermediary the way it values traditional prime brokers.
JPMorgan launched its crypto-collateral program in March 2026, allowing institutional clients to pledge Bitcoin and Ethereum as collateral for U.S. dollar loans through its Kinexys digital assets platform. The program does not constitute a full prime brokerage, but it replicates the financing component — historically the most profitable piece.
Key parameters:
The 30%–50% haircut range represents a meaningful compression from the 70% levels banks initially modeled. It remains far above Treasury haircuts but makes crypto-collateralized lending economically viable for institutional borrowers.
Goldman Sachs responded by developing crypto-collateral structures through tri-party repo arrangements. Citigroup and Bank of America are building competing programs. The pattern mirrors the 1990s prime brokerage wars in equities: once one bank offered a comprehensive package, every competitor had to match or risk losing clients.
JPMorgan analysts stated they are "positive on crypto markets for 2026" with expectations of "a further rise in digital asset flow, more led by institutional investors."
The institutional OTC market provides the revenue base these prime brokers are competing over. The data shows a structural shift:
OTC-linked infrastructure hubs now bundle custody and settlement for over $150 billion in daily volume. Prime-broker-backed OTC desks capture an estimated 60%–70% of institutional block-trade volume.
The divergence between OTC and exchange growth rates is significant. It indicates that incremental institutional capital entering crypto markets is being routed predominantly through prime brokerage channels rather than through retail-facing exchanges. This is the revenue pool — and the economic justification — for the infrastructure buildout described above.
| Feature | Coinbase Prime | Ripple Prime | FalconX | JPMorgan/Banks | |---|---|---|---|---| | Custody AUC | $350B | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Third-party only | | Multi-asset | Crypto only | Crypto + TradFi | Crypto + ETPs | TradFi + crypto collateral | | Financing | Yes (margin) | Yes | Yes | Yes (collateral lending) | | Cross-margin | Yes (March 2026) | Yes | Partial | No | | Derivatives | CFTC-regulated | Yes | Yes (Arbelos) | Via existing desks | | Credit rating | Public equity (COIN) | BBB (KBRA) | Pre-IPO ($8B val.) | Bank-level (A+/AA-) | | Strategy | Organic build | Acquisition ($1.25B) | Roll-up (4 deals) | Internal build | | Key differentiator | Scale, single platform | Multi-asset, TradFi bridge | ETP distribution (21Shares) | Balance sheet, client base |
Each firm carries a distinct structural advantage and a corresponding vulnerability. Coinbase has scale but faces exchange-broker conflict-of-interest scrutiny. Ripple Prime has multi-asset capability but depends on XRP-linked capital. FalconX has the broadest product suite but must prove integration economics to public investors. The banks have balance sheets and client relationships but remain confined to the collateral-lending function rather than full prime brokerage.
The crypto prime brokerage market is converging on a structure that would have been recognizable to any Wall Street prime broker of the 1990s: bundled execution, custody, financing, and margining services offered by a handful of firms competing on capital efficiency and breadth of coverage. The four contenders — Coinbase, Ripple Prime, FalconX, and the large banks — are pursuing the same destination through different routes: organic build, acquisition, roll-up, and internal banking infrastructure, respectively.
The economic stakes are defined by the OTC market's growth trajectory. With institutional OTC volumes growing at 12x the rate of exchange volumes, the firm that captures the prime brokerage layer captures the highest-margin institutional flow. The August 18 Ripple Prime debt issuance, the FalconX IPO filing, and JPMorgan's haircut compression all point to the same conclusion: the institutional plumbing layer of crypto is being built now, by firms willing to commit permanent capital to the effort.
Whether this infrastructure generates returns commensurate with the capital deployed remains an open question. FalconX's $75 million in 2025 revenue against an $8 billion valuation implies a 106x revenue multiple — a level that requires substantial growth to justify. Ripple Prime's 8.25% coupon on investment-grade notes is roughly 350 basis points above comparable-maturity BBB corporate bonds, reflecting a crypto-sector risk premium that has not yet compressed to traditional finance levels. The infrastructure is being built. The returns are not yet proven.