← Back to Webthreepedia
WEBTHREEPEDIA RESEARCH

[COMPARATIVE ANALYSIS] Asia's Four Stablecoin Regimes: Who Can Issue

Zephyra|April 16, 2026|BPF
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

Four Asian jurisdictions — Hong Kong, Japan, South Korea, and Singapore — are building separate stablecoin licensing regimes at the same time. None are copying each other. The result is four distinct models for who can issue local-currency stablecoins, what reserves must back them, and how broadl...

"The licensing threshold will remain high. Should additional licences be granted in future, the overall number will remain very limited." — Eddie Yue, Chief Executive, Hong Kong Monetary Authority

Executive Summary

Four Asian jurisdictions — Hong Kong, Japan, South Korea, and Singapore — are building separate stablecoin licensing regimes at the same time. None are copying each other. The result is four distinct models for who can issue local-currency stablecoins, what reserves must back them, and how broadly non-bank entities can participate.

Hong Kong granted its first two licenses on April 10, selecting HSBC and Standard Chartered-backed Anchorpoint Financial from 36 applicants. Japan's JPYC has been live since October 2025 under a fund transfer license, with SBI Holdings targeting Q2 2026 for a trust bank-backed alternative. South Korea's eight-bank consortium is developing a won-pegged stablecoin while lawmakers fight over whether fintechs can issue at all. Singapore's MAS-Regulated Stablecoin label, finalized in August 2023, is expected to go live by mid-2026.

The global stablecoin market reached approximately $307.6 billion as of February 2026. Asia accounts for roughly 60% of real stablecoin payment volume globally. Yet 99% of that volume remains denominated in U.S. dollars. These four regimes represent the first coordinated — if uncoordinated with each other — attempt to create regulated local-currency alternatives.

Table of Contents

  1. Hong Kong: Bank-First, Limited Licenses
  2. Japan: Three Issuer Types, First Movers Live
  3. South Korea: The 51% Rule Fight
  4. Singapore: Label-Based Regime Awaits Launch
  5. Reserve Requirement Comparison
  6. Who Can Issue: The Core Divergence
  7. Market Implications
  8. Key Takeaways

Hong Kong: Bank-First, Limited Licenses

The HKMA received 36 applications for stablecoin issuer licenses by the September 30, 2025, deadline. It approved two.

HSBC plans to integrate its HKD stablecoin into its PayMe mobile payment service and banking app in H2 2026, starting with person-to-person transfers, merchant payments, and subscriptions to tokenized investment products.

Anchorpoint Financial — a joint venture of Standard Chartered Bank (Hong Kong), Hong Kong Telecommunications (HKT), and Animoca Brands — will issue HKDAP (HKD At Par) starting Q2 2026. The company will operate a B2B2C model, distributing through authorized partners rather than directly to retail users. Initial use cases include cross-border payments, tokenized asset settlement, programmable payments, and supply chain financing.

The ordinance requires 100% backing at all times, with reserve assets limited to bank deposits of three months or fewer, marketable debt securities with residual maturity under one year, certain cash receivables, and investment funds. Currency matching is mandatory: reserves must be denominated in the stablecoin's reference currency. The HKMA expects issuers to maintain over-collateralization as a buffer.

The 36-to-2 approval ratio signals an intentionally restrictive approach. Hong Kong has chosen to issue very few licenses to entities with existing banking relationships, prioritizing stability over competition.

Japan: Three Issuer Types, First Movers Live

Japan's revised Payment Services Act, effective since June 2023 with further amendments scheduled by June 2026, permits three entity types to issue "digital-money type stablecoins": banks, fund transfer service providers, and trust companies.

JPYC became the first company to secure a fund transfer service provider license under this regime in August 2025. The yen-pegged stablecoin launched as a fully regulated product in October 2025. As of February 2026, circulating supply reached 2.63 billion tokens with a market cap of approximately $17.1 million. The company has set a target of 10 trillion yen in circulation over three years.

JPYSC, developed by Startale Group with SBI Holdings, targets a Q2 2026 launch. Structured as a Type III Electronic Payment Instrument, JPYSC will be issued by SBI Shinsei Trust Bank — making it the first trust bank-backed yen stablecoin. Startale completed a $63 million Series A round in March 2026, with $50 million from SBI Group and $13 million from Sony Innovation Fund. JPYSC targets enterprise use cases: treasury operations, high-volume settlement, and cross-border transactions.

Reserve structures differ by issuer type. Bank-issued stablecoins function as deposits covered by Japan's deposit insurance. Fund transfer providers back tokens with money deposits, bank guarantees, or entrusted safe assets including government bonds. Trust companies hold reserves as bank deposits, with a post-2025 provision allowing up to 50% in low-risk short-term instruments.

The JFSA opened a public consultation running through February 27, 2026, on rules specifying which bonds qualify as reserve assets for trust-issued stablecoins — a level of granularity other jurisdictions have not yet reached.

South Korea: The 51% Rule Fight

South Korea's Digital Asset Basic Act (DABA) has been delayed by a dispute between the Bank of Korea (BOK) and the Financial Services Commission (FSC) over who can issue won-pegged stablecoins.

The BOK advocates for a "51% rule" — only entities majority-owned by banks should be permitted to issue. Senior Deputy Governor Ryoo Sang-dai stated in June 2025: "It is desirable to first allow banks, which are under a high level of regulations, to issue (Won-based stablecoins) and gradually expand to the non-bank sector with the experience."

The FSC favors a more open approach. It acknowledges the need for stability but warns that a strict bank-majority requirement would block fintech firms with technical capacity from participating. The Democratic Party of Korea's Digital Asset Task Force sided with the FSC, opposing the 51% rule.

While regulators argue, industry is moving. Eight major banks — KB Kookmin, Shinhan, Woori, Nonghyup, Corporate, Suhyup, Citi Korea, and SC First Bank — are developing a shared won-pegged stablecoin through the Open Blockchain & DID Association, overseen by the Financial Supervisory Service. The project plans two models: a trust-based version and a deposit-linked version, both pegged 1:1 to the won.

Separately, Kakao Group has announced plans to build a KRW stablecoin ecosystem connecting KakaoPay, KakaoBank, and KakaoTalk into a unified digital wallet. KakaoBank is reportedly developing a smart contract FX settlement system as the foundation.

Fintech Toss, operated by Viva Republica, filed 24 KRW stablecoin trademarks including "TOSSKRW" in June 2025 and has been recruiting blockchain engineers since February 2026. At the 2026 Seoul Blockchain Meetup, Corporate Development Director Seo Chang-whoon introduced a "Money 3.0" framework centered on programmable money using smart contracts.

The motivation is partly defensive. Dollar-pegged stablecoins reached ₩56.95 trillion ($41.6 billion) in trade volume on Korean exchanges during Q1 2025, tripling since Q3 2024. In early 2026, the FSC reportedly began preparing guidelines that would exclude dollar-denominated stablecoins like USDT and USDC from approved corporate digital asset lists.

A ruling party draft bill proposes classifying stablecoins used in cross-border transactions as payment instruments under foreign exchange law. It also proposes banning interest payments on stablecoins — preventing issuers from offering yields. A full government-sponsored bill is expected by end of 2026.

Singapore: Label-Based Regime Awaits Launch

Singapore's MAS finalized its stablecoin framework on August 15, 2023 — earlier than any other Asian jurisdiction. Full implementation is expected by mid-2026.

The regime applies to single-currency stablecoins (SCS) pegged to SGD or a G10 currency. Issuers that meet requirements receive an "MAS-Regulated Stablecoin" label — a branding mechanism designed to let users distinguish regulated products from unregulated ones.

Requirements include 100% reserve backing at all times, licensing under the Payment Services Act, AML/CFT compliance, disclosure obligations, and annual audits. In November 2025, MAS announced trials of tokenized MAS bills for 2026, signaling intent to create government-issued instruments that complement private stablecoins.

Singapore's framework is the most established on paper but has produced the fewest market entrants to date. No locally issued, MAS-labeled stablecoin has yet reached significant circulation.

Reserve Requirement Comparison

| Requirement | Hong Kong | Japan | South Korea (Proposed) | Singapore | |---|---|---|---|---| | Reserve ratio | 100% + buffer | 100% | 100% (proposed) | 100% | | Eligible assets | Bank deposits ≤3mo, debt securities ≤1yr | Deposits, govt bonds, safe assets (varies by issuer type) | Bank deposits, govt bonds (proposed) | Highly liquid, low-risk assets | | Currency matching | Mandatory | Not specified | Not specified | Required for labeled SCS | | Audit requirement | Yes | Yes | Expected | Annual | | Over-collateralization | Expected | Not required | Not specified | Not specified | | Deposit insurance | No | Bank-issued only | Under discussion | No |

Who Can Issue: The Core Divergence

This is where the four regimes diverge most sharply.

Hong Kong has effectively limited issuance to entities with banking relationships. Two out of 36 applicants approved. Both licensees involve major banks (HSBC, Standard Chartered). Web3-native firms were shut out in this first round.

Japan permits three entity types — banks, fund transfer providers, and trust companies — creating the broadest formal access among the four. JPYC, a startup, obtained a license. But each entity type faces different reserve and operational requirements, creating a tiered system.

South Korea has not decided. The BOK wants bank-majority ownership. The FSC wants fintech inclusion. The outcome will determine whether Kakao and Toss can compete directly with the eight-bank consortium.

Singapore imposes no entity-type restriction in principle — any licensed payment service provider can apply. But the stringent requirements and the branding-based approach have produced limited uptake so far.

The economic implications are significant. Restricting issuance to banks preserves existing financial power structures but limits the addressable market for on-chain applications. Allowing fintech participation risks faster adoption but introduces entities with shorter compliance track records.

Market Implications

The stablecoin market reached $307.6 billion in February 2026. Asia accounts for an estimated 60% of real payment volume. But 99% of that volume is denominated in U.S. dollars.

These four local-currency stablecoin regimes collectively represent a challenge to dollar hegemony in Asian digital finance. The question is whether any of them can achieve sufficient scale to matter.

Japan's JPYC has a market cap of $17.1 million — negligible against USDT's market dominance. JPYC's target of 10 trillion yen (~$65 billion) over three years would require roughly 3,800x growth from current levels.

South Korea's experience suggests demand exists. Dollar-stablecoin volume on Korean exchanges tripled in six months, reaching $41.6 billion in Q1 2025. If even a fraction of that flow moves to won-denominated alternatives, the impact on Korea's FX market would be measurable.

Hong Kong's bank-led approach ensures institutional credibility but may limit innovation. HSBC's integration into PayMe — which has 3.6 million users — provides a distribution channel that no DeFi-native stablecoin has matched in the region.

For the broader Web3 ecosystem, the fragmentation creates interoperability challenges. A tokenized asset denominated in HKDAP on one chain cannot seamlessly settle against JPYC on another without additional infrastructure. Cross-border stablecoin settlement — the stated goal of several licensees — will require bilateral agreements that do not yet exist.

Key Takeaways

  • Four distinct models: Hong Kong restricts issuance to bank-affiliated entities, Japan allows three issuer types, South Korea is undecided, Singapore labels but does not restrict by entity type. No two frameworks are alike.
  • Hong Kong approved 2 of 36 applicants on April 10, 2026. HSBC and Anchorpoint Financial (Standard Chartered / Animoca Brands / HKT) are the sole licensees. Both plan HKD-pegged stablecoins for H2 2026.
  • Japan is furthest ahead operationally. JPYC has been live since October 2025. SBI's JPYSC targets Q2 2026. But market cap remains under $20 million.
  • South Korea's stablecoin law is stalled over the 51% bank-ownership rule. Eight banks, Kakao Group, and Toss are all building in parallel, waiting for regulatory clarity.
  • 99% of Asian stablecoin volume is USD-denominated. These regimes represent the first serious attempt to create regulated local-currency alternatives — but none has yet reached meaningful scale.
  • Reserve requirements converge at 100% across all four jurisdictions, but eligible asset definitions, currency matching rules, and audit requirements differ materially.
  • Distribution, not regulation, will determine adoption. HSBC's PayMe integration and Kakao's super-app position represent the most plausible paths to retail-scale usage.

Conclusion

Asia's four stablecoin regimes are solving the same problem differently. All require full reserves. All demand licensing. But they disagree on the fundamental question: who should be allowed to create money-like digital instruments?

Hong Kong answered with banks. Japan answered with banks, trust companies, and fund transfer providers. South Korea has not answered yet. Singapore answered with anyone who qualifies — but few have.

The economic value at stake is the intermediation layer of Asian digital payments. Whoever controls local-currency stablecoin issuance controls the rails for tokenized asset settlement, cross-border payments, and programmable finance in the region.

As of April 2026, the combined market capitalization of all non-USD Asian stablecoins remains under $100 million. The frameworks are in place. The institutions are committed. The capital has not yet arrived.

Sources & References

  1. HKMA — Eddie Yue on Robust Development of the Regulated Stablecoin Ecosystem in Hong Kong — HKMA Insight, April 10, 2026
  2. HSBC and Standard Chartered-led Group Land Hong Kong's First Stablecoin Licenses — CoinDesk, March 24, 2026
  3. Standard Chartered-backed Anchorpoint Granted Stablecoin Issuer Licence — Standard Chartered Press Release, April 2026
  4. Japan Stablecoin Regulation Explained: PSA Rules, JPY Coins and Bank Issuers — Bitcoin.com News, 2026
  5. Japan's JPYC Launches Country's First Regulated Yen Stablecoin — The Block, 2025
  6. Japan's SBI and Startale Unveil Yen Stablecoin JPYSC Set for Q2 2026 Launch — BeInCrypto, February 2026
  7. SBI, Sony Back Startale's $63 Million Push to Expand Japan's Tokenized Finance Stack — CoinDesk, March 25, 2026
  8. South Korea Proposes Comprehensive Digital Asset Law Including Stablecoin Rules — CoinDesk, April 8, 2026
  9. Fintech Stablecoins Just Got a Boost in South Korea as Lawmakers Oppose 51% Rule — Yahoo Finance / CCN, 2026
  10. Stablecoin Moment: Why the Won Is About to Reshape Digital Finance in Asia — The Korea Times, April 14, 2026
  11. South Korean Banks Plan Won-Pegged Stablecoin Launch by 2026 — Cointelegraph, 2025
  12. South Korean Fintech Toss Targets Web3 Finance With Proprietary Mainnet and 24 Stablecoin Trademarks — Bitcoin.com News, April 6, 2026
  13. KakaoBank Advances Stablecoin Initiative to Development Stage — The Block, 2026
  14. MAS Finalises Stablecoin Regulatory Framework — Monetary Authority of Singapore, August 15, 2023
  15. Global Stablecoin Regulations 2026: What Enterprises Need to Know — BVNK Blog, 2026
  16. 50 Stablecoin Statistics That Matter in 2026 — Stablecoin Insider, 2026